Energy. Where is it coming from…

"My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth." Psalms 121:2

“My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth.” Psalms 121:2

Creating good habits without seeing immediate results and realizing they will not come right away, can be discouraging. Sometimes I want to quit, give up and just live a mediocre comfortable life. Grab a blanket, bowl of popcorn and get lost in some TV show. Watch others live their life. Live through them.

I was thinking about why I want to quit so often. After some consideration, I realized I am allowing my energy to come from my circumstances, the way I feel and how many people encourage me. Sure, pushing when your circumstances are good is easier. Pushing when you feel great and things are going well, is easier. Pushing harder when people are behind you encouraging you, is easier.

Pushing when you feel like noone really understands why you are bothering to push so hard. Pushing when your emotions are down. Pushing when noone else gets it. That’s hard. That is why I must find the energy from something not so circumstantial. I must allow my dreams/goals to motivate me. I have to do it for me. If I do it for someone else who doesn’t necessarily care or notice, I will quit. I have to keep going because I don’t want “me” to quit. If I look in the mirror and find my God given strength, willpower and mental tenacity, I won’t give up. Why would I settle for average if I know I can do more? “My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth.” Psalms 121:2

Our help comes from the, Lord. He created us to use our talents to the best of our ability. If we only do what we have to do, we are not giving our best. “Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord.” Col. 3:23

I have an all powerful creator who made heaven and earth, who loves me and sent His son to die for me. Why would I doubt that He will be able to supply me with the vision, energy and tenacity to reach my goals and glorify Him with my life. My help comes from Him. Not my circumstances, my emotions or people. Digging deep. Plugging into an endless energy source. Don’t quit and one day I will look back grateful for how far I have come.

Leave a Reply

